a. The Court may send you to jail if you do not pay your forfeiture and court costs.
b. The Court may also suspend your driving privileges for failure to pay.
c. Your debt may be referred to Wisconsin State Debt Collection - pursuant to section 71.93(8), Wisconsin Statutes. A delinquent collection fee of 15% of the unpaid balance or $35.00, whichever is greater, will be added to your account.
If you feel you are indigent or financially unable to pay, you are entitled to an Indigence Hearing. It is your responsibility to request an Indigence Hearing (in writing) within 10 days of the first missed payment. At the hearing, you will be required to provide documentation to show the court your financial status, including tax returns from the prior 2 years.
Show All Answers
You need to contact the Department of Transportation at (800) 924-3570 or go online at http://www.wisconsindot.gov
First, you have to pay all past due fines and forfeitures. Then, you must go to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and pay $60.00 to reinstate your operating privileges.
When a defendant does not appear (or the court does not receive a written plea to all charges at least 24 hours prior to the court date/time), the defendant is in default. A judgment against that defendant is then entered. Written pleas must be timely and must be signed and dated by the defendant. Written pleas may be scanned and emailed to firstname.lastname@example.org, or dropped in the drop box on the East side of the Little Chute Village Hall.